Ode to January 7th, 2007

February 28, 2007 at 12:35 am 6 comments

Come see the emo side of Kate!

Ode to January 7th, 2007 — read aloud by me!

I close my eyes and remember
The way things used to be;
The touch of two sweet lips
and strong arms surrounding me.

What catches me off balance
I find you never really cared
You never looked into my soul
As a partner, never shared

Yet, I still catch your scent
Even though you’re gone
The lies you’ve told remain
The hurt forever strong

Memories will  always fade
as I long for a new embrace
Someone to view me as their own
and take me from this place

So it may be lips, and arms
Or a look that would make me weak
A kiss to bring me to my knees
A real partner I would seek

But of all the things that I do miss
and the things that make me blue
I can not help and I must confess!

Hell, it isn’t by any stretch

Not even a little bit

You.

Entry filed under: Writing Samples.

Fun with 2 year olds Month in space pictures…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. badfun  |  February 28, 2007 at 12:56 am

    I am only getting about 3 seconds of the audio.

    Reply
  • 2. anaedream  |  February 28, 2007 at 1:08 am

    I reloaded it.

    Try it now. If it doesn’t work, try right clicking and ‘saving as’. Sometimes the plugin doesn’t work.

    Bleh.

    Reply
  • 3. Ellen  |  March 1, 2007 at 7:17 am

    i loved your poem kate. it expresses perfectly your angst of trying to make love out of nothing at all. why we do this ,i do not know. perhaps hope, perhaps self delusion.
    we women cannot grasp the idea that if we give all of our best
    to a man, that our love will not be returned.
    why can’t a man we love reach into our souls and lift us up? this is a mystery to me. is there an essential defect in the dna of men?
    jsut a musing on a thursday morning……

    Reply
  • 4. anaedream  |  March 2, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I’m glad it spoke to you! However, the only thing it’s saying to me is that I should return to my highschool and try to get it published in the Literary Club’s Poetry edition.

    I’m soooooo emo!

    Reply
  • 5. Ellen  |  March 3, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Blechhhh!! Do not belittle expressing yourself through poetry.
    emo? that is what poetry is all about.

    Reply
  • 6. Ellen  |  March 3, 2007 at 7:08 am

    what is the alternative?
    clinical, techno?
    non-emos are boring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Recent Posts

Dream's Photos

It's really not a cookbook, we promise...

Eh-ho!

The Ultimate Vain

More Photos

