Flags of our Sons…

February 12, 2007 at 4:20 pm 1 comment

Told to Wait, A Marine Dies – Link to an Article on Boston.com

When I first clicked on this link earlier today, I thought perhaps it was in reference to a Marine succumbing after being told to wait at a medical facility for treatment of a physical injury.

Turns out, I was half right.

Here’s a brief summary of the five part article:

Marine fights for his country. Marine comes back from war with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder(PTSD). He visits the VA for help with his suicidal thoughts and is told that the clinician is not available and to wait for a call the following day. The next day arrives and sure enough there is a phone call from the once missing doctor.

Explaining the incredibly serious symptoms again, the Marine is told there are no beds available for him and there are 36 people in front of him for any sort of treatment.

A few days later, the Marine hangs himself. 

Where in the 345 billion dollar budget that Bush has asked for, is the money to revamp the Veteran’s Affairs programs that are lacking in this country? While the shouts of “baby-killer” in the late 70’s have died down and we welcome our troops back with open arms and banners, this government has done NOTHING to take care of the men and women who have kept us free.

A few weeks ago, I caught Article 99 on TV. It’s an older movie from 1992 that depicts a VA hospital in Kansas City. The basic plot is of a fictional article (99) that states no Veteran may be treated for an injury or disease unless it’s directly war/service related.  

While Article 99 may be a fictional theme, there were many inconvenient truths about the way this country treats its decommissioned elderly and broken toy soldiers. I find it very sad that the Marine mentioned above could not even receive the proper treatment when it was directly relative from serving in one of our most recent battlegrounds.

The most depressing part is I can’t just turn off my TV when the movie ends this time. This is very real and very relevant regarding the future of our society.  So reflect on your disgust of a government that has turned it’s back on your fathers and mothers. On MY father and grandfathers.

This story was about a son whose father walked away from his graveside with a folded Stars & Stripes. Why don’t we take that 345 Billion and sink it  into improving the lives of our soldiers who have put it all on the line for a corrupted idea of life, liberty and pursuit of happiness.

For further thought:
Senator Metzenbaum (speaking to Senator Glenn):
“How can you run for Senate when you’ve never held a real job?”

Senator Glenn (D-Ohio):
“I served 23 years in the United States Marine Corps. I served through two wars. I flew 149 missions. My plane was hit by anti-aircraft fire on 12 different occasions. I was in the space program. It wasn’t my checkbook, Howard; it was my life on the line. It was not a nine-to-five job, where I took time off to take the daily cash receipts to the bank.”
“I ask you to go with me … as I went the other day…to a veteran’s hospital and look those men …with their mangled bodies . in the eye, and tell THEM they didn’t hold a job! You go with me to the Space Program at NASA and go, as I have gone, to the widows and Orphans of Ed White, Gus Grissom and Roger Chaffee…and you look those kids in the eye and tell them that their DADS didn’t hold a job.You go with me on Memorial Day and you stand in Arlington National Cemetery, where I have more friends buried than I’d like to remember, and you watch those waving flags.You stand there, and you think about this nation, and you tell ME that those people didn’t have a job? What about you?” 

Entry filed under: Soap Box.

Morals, Religion, & Scientists, Oh My! Valentine’s Day

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Recent Posts

Dream's Photos


