The “No Obligation Test Drive”

December 11, 2006 at 12:21 am 1 comment

I’m in the market for a new car. As I start doing research, and contacting dealerships, I’m finding the nasty side of car buying. One of the first dealerships to get back to me, tried to get me to place a deposit down on a car I’ve never even seen, let alone test driven.

I knew I was in trouble, when the first words out of her mouth were, “Are you able to come down for a special no-obligation test drive?” I would like to have seen the look of shock on her face when I replied, “Oh, so anyone that normally comes into your dealership and test drives a  vehicle has to buy it?”

Looking back, was there urgency in my voice? Perhaps I sounded like a woman who just needed to get a new car, today. Considering that’s not the case, I’m giving them one more chance to come up with a reasonable offer. Now, that I now what kind of pressure tactics I’m up against, I’m slowing way the hell down to make the right decision. After all, it’s my money.

Entry filed under: Soap Box.

Candy Canes & Christmas Trees Woman Sees State in Chip

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. smhofman  |  December 13, 2006 at 6:39 am

    So, did you spend your money on their car? 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Dream's Photos

It's really not a cookbook, we promise...

Eh-ho!

The Ultimate Vain

More Photos

